Welcome message from Father Stephen

Welcome to the website of the Church of the Holy Fathers of Nicaea.  We are a thriving and diverse Orthodox Church.  Many of us come from traditional Orthodox countries – Greece, Cyprus, Romania, the Ukraine, Russia etc., many are British people who have found a home in Orthodox Christianity.  Our services are conducted in English, because it is our common language.

Orthodoxy is, quite simply “Christianity”! It is the Church founded by Jesus Christ after his Resurrection.  Orthodox Christianity is a wonderful religion, full of joy, hope and excitement. Every year we remember the events of Christ’s life, reflect on the meaning and renew ourselves through experiencing these feasts.

Beauty is very important for us, beauty in the icons, beauty in the church buildings, beauty in the chanting, beauty in the services.  We enjoy our Orthodox Christianity and hope that anyone who visits our church will have their minds opened to the ineffable glory and majesty of God, the Holy Trinity.

Orthodox Christianity is something that we LIVE and DO.  It affects the whole of our lives and is for every day and hour of the week.  Because it is something that we do, it is only by joining in with that “doing” that people can really understand what it is all about.  So, if you are interested “Come and See!”

For Your Diary
Tue, 28 Jun 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

Wed, 29 Jun 2022
  • Peter and Paul, the Holy Apostles

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 30 Jun 2022
  • Synaxis of the Twelve Holy Apostles

  • 9:00 am Divine Liturgy for the Feast of the Apostles

    Greek Orthodox Church, Dove Close, Shrewsbury SY2 6QY, UK

Fri, 01 Jul 2022
  • Cosmas & Damian the Holy Unmercenaries

  • 11:00 am Church open

Sat, 02 Jul 2022
  • Deposition of the Precious Robe of the Theotokos in Blachernae

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 03 Jul 2022
  • 3rd Sunday of Matthew

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist) in TELFORD

    Serbian Orthodox Church of Saint Nicholas, Barclay Ct, Donnington, Telford TF2 8GA, UK

  • 12:00 pm Children’s Catechesis | Telford

    Serbian Orthodox Church of Saint Nicholas, Barclay Ct, Donnington, Telford TF2 8GA, UK

Tue, 05 Jul 2022
  • Athanasius of Mount Athos Lampadus the Wonderworker

  • 11:00 am Church open

Wed, 06 Jul 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 07 Jul 2022
  • 10:30 am Morning Prayer & Scripture Study

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 7:00 pm Small Paraklesis

Fri, 08 Jul 2022
  • The Holy Great Martyr Procopius

  • 11:00 am Church open

Sat, 09 Jul 2022
  • Thyateira Midlands Ecclesiastical Seminary

    Magnet Centre, Park Approach, Birmingham B23 7SJ, UK

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 10 Jul 2022
  • 4th Sunday of Matthew

  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

Mon, 11 Jul 2022
  • Euphemia the Great Martyr

Tue, 12 Jul 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

Wed, 13 Jul 2022
  • Synaxis of Archangel Gabriel

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 14 Jul 2022
  • 10:30 am Morning Prayer & Scripture Study

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 7:00 pm Small Paraklesis

Fri, 15 Jul 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

Sat, 16 Jul 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 17 Jul 2022
  • Sunday of the Holy Fathers of the 4th Ecumenical Council

  • The Holy Great Martyr Marina (Margaret)

  • Greek Orthodox Church Stoke-on-Trent Feast Day | Holy Martyr Marina

    st3 2jx

  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

Tue, 19 Jul 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

Wed, 20 Jul 2022
  • The Glorious Prophet Elias (Elijah)

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 21 Jul 2022
  • 10:30 am Morning Prayer & Scripture Study

  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 7:00 pm Small Paraklesis

Fri, 22 Jul 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

Sat, 23 Jul 2022
  • 11:00 am Church open

  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 24 Jul 2022
  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

Mon, 25 Jul 2022
  • Dormition of St. Anna, mother of the Theotokos

Tue, 26 Jul 2022
  • Paraskeve the Righteous Martyr of Rome

  • 11:00 am Church open

Latest News

The Nativity of the Forerunner
Updates on support for Ukraine
Latest Bulletin

Today's Saints and Readings

Today’s Saints

Saints Feasts and Readings for 06/27/2022

Samson the Hospitable; Joanna the Myrrhbearer; Anektos the Martyr; Luke the Hermit

Today’s Readings

Epistle Reading

St. Paul's Letter to the Romans 7:1-14

Gospel Reading

Matthew 9:36-38; 10:1-8

Videos

Our Local Saints
Copyright © 2022